Laurel Halo’s Possessed score released on vinyl

By in Label News, News



Sonics for digital-age deterioration.

Laurel Halo is releasing her debut score – for the 2018 Metahaven-produced film Possessed – this April via The Vinyl Factory.

“The soundtrack traverses both the synthetic and acoustic, in keeping with the film’s tension between what is natural and unnatural.”

Its 13-compositions range “from aqueous, subterranean drones and plaintive folk pieces for violin and cello, to pseudoclassical piano mutations.”

Listen to the first track ‘Hyphae’ below:

The Possessed score features violinist Galya Bisengalieva and cellist Oliver Coates, as well as aditional production from engineer Paul Corley.

Limited to 500 copies, it will be released on 2xLP, with a Possessed film poster insert and vinyl-only track, ‘Last Seen (Reprise)’, as well as a printed inner sleeve, featuring cover artwork by Metahaven.

Pre-order a copy of Possessed here in advance of its 10th April release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Hyphae
2. Rome Theme I
3. Breath
4. Lead
5. Marbles
6. Rome Theme II
7. Zeljava

Side B

1. Last Seen
2. Rome Theme III
3. Cave Walk
4. Stabat Mater (Excerpt)
5. Masks
6. Last Seen (Reprise)

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp