Ebo Taylor and Uhuru Yenzu’s Conflict Nkru! album reissued on vinyl





Ghanaian highlife meets funk.

Ebo Taylor & Uhuru Yenzu’s 1980 album Conflict Nkru! is being reissued on vinyl, via Mr Bongo this May.

Watch next: The story of Ghanaian highlife legend Ebo Taylor’s “lost tapes” in his own words

Conflict Nkru! exemplifies Taylor’s attempts to “move away from what he saw as [highlife’s] more traditional qualities”, as Mr Bongo notes, with added funk, horn riffs, and upbeat percussives.

The album was originally released on Essiebons during 1980. The new reissue features a reproduction of the original artwork, and is pressed on yellow vinyl.

It follows Mr Bongo’s reissue of Asha Puthli’s 1975 album The Devil is Loose.

Pre-order Conflict Nkru! here in advance of its 28th May release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. You Need Love
2. Love and Death
3. What is Life?
4. Christ Will Come
5. Victory

Photo by: Tom Herbots