A Certain Ratio announce 7xLP 40th anniversary box set





With 20 previously unreleased tracks, as well as music created for a Grace Jones collaboration.

Mancunian punk-funk pioneers A Certain Ratio have announced ACR:BOX – a limited edition, seven vinyl box set – will be released this May via Mute.

Read more: An introduction to A Certain Ratio in ten records

The 7xLP, 56-track box set features singles, B-sides, alternative versions and demos – remastered by guitarist and trumpeter Martin Moscrop at Abbey Road Studios, London.

Spanning the group’s nine studio albums, it includes rarities such as two recordings of ACR’s cover of Talking Heads’ ‘Houses in Motion’, as well as material intended for the band’s collaboration with Grace Jones that never came to fruition.

ACR:BOX follows the band’s comprehensive reissue series, which saw ACR rerelease all of their studio albums, as well as a career-spanning compilation called acr:set.

Pre-order a copy of ACR:BOX here ahead of its 3rd May release, listen to a newly recorded string verion of ‘Won’t Stop Loving You’ and check out the track list below.


Singles and B-sides

1. All Night Party
2. The Thin Boys
3. Blown Away
4. Son And Heir
5. Waterline
6. Funaezekea
7. Abracadubra
8. Sommadub
9. Guess Who? (12″ version)
10. Tumba Rumba
11. Knife Slits Water (12″ version)
12. Kether Hot Knives (Mix In Special)
13. I Need Someone Tonight
14. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing
15. Life’s a Scream
16. There’s Only This
17. Si Fermir O Grido (Touch Cassette Version)
18. Brazilia 6.10
19. Sounds Like Something Dirty
20. The Runner (Greetings Four Version)
21. Inside (Greetings Four Version)
22. Bootsy (Greetings Four Version)
23. Fever 103 (Greetings Four Version)
24. Loosen Up Your Mind
25. The Planet
26. Turn Me on (7″ Edit)
27. 27 Forever (Jon Dasilva’s Testimonial Mix)
28. Shack up (Electronic Radio Edit)


29. Houses In Motion (Demo Version 1)
30. Houses In Motion (Demo Version 2)
31. And Then Again (Another version)
32. Piu Lento (John Peel Session)
33. Nostromo A Go Go (Demo)
34. Force (Demo)
35. Backs to The Wall (Demo)
36. The Big E (Demo)
37. Every Pleasure (Demo)
38. Rivers Edge (Demo)
39. Stadium (Demo)
40. Thin Grey Line (Demo)
41. Repercussions (African Mix)
42. BTTW 90 (Demo)
43. Spirit Dance (Demo)
44. Bitter Pill (Never Released)
45. It’s Trippin When I’m Fine (Previously Unreleased)
46. Mello (JD 800 Perc Mix)
47. Tekno 4 an Answer (120bpm)
48. Samba 123 (Demo)
49. Some Day (ACR rework)
50. Happy Meal (Working Title)
51. Flight Won’t Stop (Unfinished Demo)
52. Fruit Song (Unfinished Demo)
53. Say What You Mean (Unfinished Demo)
54. W.S.L.U.

(Photo by Kevin Cummings.)