Thundercat announces new album, It Is What It Is





Featuring Kamasi Washington, Childish Gambino, BADBADNOTGOOD and more.

Thundercat, aka Stephen Lee Bruner, is releasing a new album, titled It Is What It Is, this April via Brainfeeder Records.

Read more: Watch BadBadNotGood discuss their favourite records in this new film

Co-produced by Thundercat, It Is What It Is features cameos from Kamasi Washington, Ty Dolla $ign, Lil B, Childish Gambino and more.

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” shares Bruner.

First single ‘Black Qualls’ sees Thundercat teaming up with Steve Lacy (The Internet) and Funk icon Steve Arrington (Slave).

It Is What It Is’ follows Thundercat’s 2017 Drunk LP, and the accompanying 2018 ‘chopped not slopped’ mix version.

Head here for more info in advance of It Is What It Is’ 3rd April release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
9. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is

Photo by: Parker Day