Bobby Womack’s The Poet and The Poet II reissued





Groove-driven r’n’b, featuring duets with Patti Labelle.

Bobby Womack’s The Poet and The Poet II albums are being reissued on vinyl, via UMC this April.

Originally released in 1981, The Poet is split between upbeat, groove-driven tunes, and romantic ballads.

Womack followed up the album with The Poet II three years later in 1984, which includes three duets with legendary singer Patti LaBelle.

Both albums have been remastered from the original tapes, and include liner notes penned by music scholar Bill Dahl.

It follows UMC’s release of a compilation of Brian Eno’s soundtrack work, titled Film Music 1976 – 2020, in 2020.

Pre-order The Poet and The Poet II here in advance of their 30th April release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.

The Poet

1. So Many Sides of You
2. Lay Your Lovin’ on Me
3. Secrets
4. Just My Imagination
5. Stand Up
6. Games
7. If You Think You’re Lonely Now
8. Where Do We Go From Here

The Poet II

1. Love Has Finally Come at Last
2. It Takes A Lot of Strength to Say Goodbye
3. Through The Eyes of a Child
4. Surprise, Surprise
5. Tryin’ To Get Over You
6. Tell Me Why
7. Who’s Foolin’ Who
8. I Wish I Had Someone to Go Home To
9. American Dream