VF Live: Jayson Wynters





Broken beat, house, and techno records from his Birmingham HQ.

In VF Live, our favourite DJs take you inside their homes, record stores, and studios, for intimate mixes and performances.

DJ, producer, and Cafe Artum founder Jayson Wynters makes his VF Live debut, playing Broken beat, house, and techno records from his Birmingham HQ.

First cutting his teeth in the garage scene as an MC in the late ’90s, Jayson has continued his musical journey weaving through different scenes in his hometown, as well as further afield – in the UK and across the globe.

“My inspiration behind the mix was paying homage to nights like Co-op at plastic people, Bruk up at the Hare n Hounds in Birmingham and Bruce Q’s Liquid Fusion at Zinc Bar. All in the name of Broken Beat/Nu Jazz and the people/usual suspects who are responsible for this sound.”

Watch and listen to the set above, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Yukiro Fukotumi – Is it Featuring Ion Fine
2. Kaidi Tatham – In search of hope pt 2
3. Dub Basement – Thrill Seeker
4. Cosmosis – The Land of the forgotten dreams of Zoo
5. Matt Wood – No Time (Neon Phusion Mix)
6. Ben Hauke – Simple Feat Jerome Thomas
7. Da One Away – Trash Da Junk (808 dub Version)
8. 2000& Black – Two way here one way go
9. Untitled
10. Bossa Tres Jazz – Easy in
11. DJ Rels – Eclipse Parts 1 & 2
12. Daniel Maunick – A Vicious Circle
13. Samrai – Khadi (JTC Remix)
14. Untitled
15. Sir Lord Commix – Motionvibe
16. 4Hero – We who are not as others (Jazzanova Remix)
17. Watching Windows (Roni Size Meets Nu Yorican Soul)

Listen to Jason Wynters’ forthcoming The Affect Heuristic EP on Delsin Records here.

Photo by: David Stanley