VF Live: Aloha Got Soul #7 with Roger Bong





Celebrating the sounds of Hawaii – with disco, island folk, rock, and AOR records.

In VF Live, our favourite DJs take you inside their homes, record stores, and studios, for intimate mixes and performances.

Aloha Got Soul’s latest set sees founder Roger Bong celebrating the sounds of Hawaii – direct from its record store in Honolulu.

“This is a mix of all things Hawaii: country, disco, Hawaiian, folk, rock, AOR, and ending with the all-time classic, ‘Naturally’ by Kalapana.

These selections come from a crate I was spinning every weekend at the Honolulu Museum of Art for a recurring event which centered around a relaxing evening of Hawaiian and local music. Recent government measures have cancelled or prohibited many types of events throughout Hawaii due to the pandemic, and this crate has sat unplayed since.

The records also remind me of my first VF Live set – songs that feel like home, songs that remind me of the islands.”

Watch and listen to the set above, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Gabe Kila – Jiro And Ichiro
2. Kona Blend – Meeting in Secret
3. Keli’i Tau’a – Roll It Maika
4. Makaha Sons of Niihau – Hale Aniani / Lani Ha‘aha‘a
5. Buddy Fo and his Group – Going Home
6. Henry Kaleialoha Allen – Naka Pueo
7. Na Kaholokula – Puhipuhi Osole Pipi
8. Haleakala – Jan Ken A Po
9. Loyal Garner – Kaaahi Kahului
10. Hawaiian Railroads – Kapoho (A Village In The Land Of Puna)
11. Kaleo O Kalani – Hanalei
12. Country Comfort – We Are The Children
13. Mike Kahikina – Who Came First?
14. Eddie Suzuki – Beauty Near Hanalei
15. Harry Sonoda – Waves
16. Moondance – Still On My Mind
17. Kalapana – Naturally

Head here to discover more about Aloha Got Soul