Anime & manga soundtracks from ’84-’90 collected on new compilation





Futuristic synth pop experiments.

Time Capsule is releasing a new compilation, called Anime & Manga Synth Pop Soundtracks 1984​-​1990, this August.

Read more: The inexorable rise of vinyl soundtrack releases

The compilation collects synth pop experiments originally designed to soundtrack Japan’s booming anime and manga industries.

In doing so, it captures “the mindset of composers and musicians who believed in a technological future where everything was possible.”

Anime & Manga Synth Pop Soundtracks 1984​-​1990 features compositions from Yoshinobu Hiraiwa, Kazuhiko Izu, Kan Ogasawara, Keiichi Oku and more.

It follows the label’s Lèspri Ka: New Directions in Gwoka Music from Guadeloupe 1981​-​2010 compilation, released in January.

Pre-order Anime & Manga Synth Pop Soundtracks 1984​-​1990 from Bandcamp in advance of its 26th August release; check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Kan Ogasawara – Honowo
2. Ichiro Nitta – Shadow Rhythm
3. Kazuhiko Izu – Act 2 Scene 26
4. Yoshinobu Hiraiwa – Into The Jungle
5. Takashi Kokubo & Nobuyoshi Koshibe – Kiki (Jungle At Night)
6. Kan Ogasawara – Utage
7. Open Sesame! – Scrab
8. Keiichi Oku – Ryoko’s Theme