VF Mix 170: Philip Glass by Penguin Cafe



An hour with the minimalist master.

There are few musicians who have pervaded contemporary consciousness quite like Philip Glass. Finding a balance between levity and gravity, and bringing minimalism into the mainstream in the process, Glass’ compositions have helped shape the evolution of the film soundtrack, while his explorations of texture and repetition are regularly cited by electronic producers and pop musicians alike.

One such artist who sits at this nexus is Arthur Jeffes, who founded Penguin Cafe in 2009 to perform the music of his father, Simon Jeffes’ Penguin Café Orchestra. Glass was an influence on father and son alike, and is the subject of Arthur Jeffes’ new VF Mix, compiled to mark the release of Penguin Cafe’s Handfuls of Night, on Erased Tapes Records.

Listen to the mix and check out the track list below.

“I’ve always loved Philip Glass, since I first heard him when I was 8 or 9 years old. It’s funny how he’s gone from being a little bit out there to being this much-loved grandee of contemporary music. I remember my dad talking about Koyaanisqatsi being regarded slightly askance when it first came out, and how that had changed as the world began to realise that minimalism was a great way out of the cul-du-sac of largely unlistenable modern composition. Suddenly people wanted to come to concerts of music that had been written in the last ten years, and it sounded beautiful, without feeling too accessible.

“I think for me the thing that makes his music so much fun is that there’s a sense of playfulness and adventure at the same time as a profoundly serious delivery. You can have something like ‘Company’ or ‘Akhenaten’ sitting next to ‘Liquid Days’ and ‘Glassworks’ and you have a sense of all that ’80s glamour being translated into orchestral works.

“I’ve chosen a very small selection here but I hope it shows both the range and the consistency of his approach.”


1. Akhnaten: Prelude
2. Company: II
3. Company: IV
4. Aguas de Amazonia: Negro River
5. Pruit Igoe
6. Glassworks: I. Opening
7. Glassworks: VI. Closing
8. Metamorphosis: Metamorphosis Two
9. Wichita Vortex Sutra
10. Songs from Liquid Days: No. 3, Freezing
11. In the Upper Room: Dance IX

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp