Brazilian crooner Gus Levy channels samba rock and psychedelic pop on new LP





“A mystical universe” amidst Rio de Janeiro.

Brazilian musician Gus Levy is a releasing a new album – called Magia Magia – via 180g / Disk Union this October.

Inspired by an idea of the universe as ruled by feminine entities, the album spans influences including: “the samba rock of Jorge Ben, the romantic grooves of Djavan and the psychedelic pop of Connan Mockasin and Negro Léo,” shares 180g.

Throughout its 11 tracks, Magia Magia considers themes of “union, spirituality, magic, complicity, happiness, courage, love, fraternity.”

It features: Gus Levy on vocals / guitars / keys, Marcelo Costa on drums / percussions, Pedro Dantas on bass, João Werneck on electric guitar, Ana Frango Elétrico and Raquel Dimantas on choral vocals, Quarteto Cais on strings, with strings arrangement by Rudah Guedes.

Magia Magia follows the release of WAMONO A to Z Vol. I – Japanese Jazz Funk & Rare Groove 1968​-​1980 (Selected by DJ Yoshizawa Dynamite & Chintam) on 180g.

Pre-order Magia Magia here in advance of its 23rd October release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. No Vento Que For
2. Juliana
3. Você Passa
4. Plantar a Flor no Inferno
5. Sua Força
6. Magia Magia
7. Meu Gosto
8. Nosso Amor
9. Mudança
10. Um Mistério
11. Devagar