Brownswood to release compilation showcasing London’s bright young jazz scene





With musical director Shabaka Hutchings at the helm.

Gilles Peterson imprint Brownswood has assembled an all-star selection of London’s finest jazz musicians for a new 2xLP collection called We Out Here, released this February.

Read more: Beyond Borders: How immigration shaped British jazz

Recorded over the course of three days, the album features 9 new tracks from Moses Boyd (who released his Absolute Exodus EP via Vinyl Factory earlier this year), Maisha, Ezra Collective, Moses Boyd, Theon Cross, Nubya Garcia, Shabaka Hutchings, Triforce, Joe Armon-Jones, and Kokoroko.

“Surveying the way that London’s jazz-influenced music had spread outside of its usual spaces in recent years, this album bottles up some of the vital ideas emanating from that burgeoning movement,” shares the label.

“Giving a platform to a scene where mutual cooperation and a DIY spirit are second-nature, it’s a window into the wide-eyed future of London’s musical underground.”

The musicians will also be bringing the album to life during a special 3-day event at Total Refreshment Centre 25th – 27th January, which will feature performances, panel discussions, and debut screenings of a documentary film about the making of the album and the scene that inspired it.

We Out Here is out 9th February on Brownswood; pre-order a copy here, and check out the track list below.


1. Maisha – Inside The Acorn
2. Ezra Collective – Pure Shade
3. Moses Boyd – The Balance
4. Theon Cross – Brockley
5. Nubya Garcia – Once
6. Shabaka Hutchings – Black Skin, Black Masks
7. Triforce – Walls
8. Joe Armon-Jones – Go See
9. Kokoroko – Abusey Junction