VF Live: Chrissy at Vinyl Dreams





A joyous selection of house, disco, hi-NRG, techno, rave, and jungle records from San Francisco.

In VF Live, our favourite DJs take you inside their homes, record stores, and studios for intimate mixes.

Following the release of Chrissy’s brilliant new album, Physical Release, on Hooversound Recordings, the genre-bending, San Francisco-based DJ and producer makes his debut in the series.

Featuring house, disco, hi-NRG, techno, rave, and jungle records selected from his collection, his album, and new finds from Vinyl Dreams‘ store, the mix won’t fail to move you. (Keep an ear out for the first 12″ he ever bought as a kid – an impressive selection at any age.)

“Nowadays, I usually play out on CDJs, so despite still being a record collector, it has been a loooong time since I’ve played an all-vinyl set. (I think about a decade, in fact!) For this set, I gravitated toward my favourite dance records from over the years – plus a couple of tunes from my new album, and topped it off with some picks from Vinyl Dreams’s amazing inventory.

“The set was recorded from the legendary Vinyl Dreams record shop’s HQ in San Francisco, California, with technical help from the lovely folks at Fault Radio. I played on Vinyl’s Dreams’s in-house setup: 2 Technics SL1200s running into a Rane MP2016 DJ Mixer and XP2016 External Processor.


1. Baby D – Day Dreaming (Can U Handle It Mix) [Production House]
2. Shaun J Wright & Stereogamous – Face Love Anew (Jason Kendig Remix) [HNYTRX / Cocktail D’Amore]
3. Sade – Never Thought (Kurtiss Live Remix) [Mutual Intentions]
4. JVXTA – Brawn (Cinthie’s Jack Be Nimble Mix) [Homage]
5. Chrissy – Can’t Get Me Down [Cool Ranch]
6. Ubeka & Uniques – Celebrate [UMD]
7. Angie Stone – I Wasn’t Kidding (Shelter Mix) [Restricted Access]
8. Jasper Street Company feat. Byron Stingily & Norma Jean – Paradise (Chrissy’s Sunrise Mix) [Nervous]
9. Orbital – Lush (1926 Transcendance Mix) [FFRR]
10. Chrissy – Fantasy Pt. 2 (Bolt Cutters & A Jenny) [Hooversound Recordings]
11. Chrissy – South Pacific State (Violet Remix) [Cool Ranch]
12. Sylvester – Don’t Stop [Megatone]
13. Parris Mitchell & DJ Funk – Follow Me Ghetto [Dance Mania]
14. Chicago Skyway – Empty Pattern 10 [Emphasis Recordings]
15. Chrissy – Shoes In A Dryer [Housepitality]
16. Baronhawk Poitier – Temperado Tornado [Honey Soundsystem]
17. Green Velvet – Shake & Pop (Gant-Man Remix) [Relief]
18. Mr. Mitch – On The Blob [Hot Mom USA]
19. Serotonin – Rumblism [white label]
20. Luke’s Anger – Filas & Undercuts [Sneaker Social Club]
21. D’Cruze – Ruf Intelligence One [Ruf Intelligence]
22. DJ Dextrous – The Deep [dubplate]
23. Chrissy – All The True Ravers [Hooversound Recordings]
24. DJ Krome & Mr. Time – Mad Funk [Tearin Vinyl]

Chrissy’s Physical Release is out now on Hooversound Recordings.