Tim Maia’s Brazilian boogie opus Disco Club reissued by Mr Bongo



Disco glitz meets Rio funk and soul.

Brazilian maestro Tim Maia’s eighth studio album has been remastered for a new reissue, via Mr Bongo this March.

Read next: How Brazil is reclaiming its record culture

Recorded in 1978, Disco Club “combined the glitz and glamour of disco’s heyday with Maia’s raw funk and soul roots,” shares the label.

Maia created the album at Estudios Level with a band including Paulinha Braga on drums, Jamil Joanes on bass, alongside arranger and keyboardist Lincoln Olivetti.

The LP was reissued once, in 1991 by WEA under the name Sossego with completely different track titles in exactly the same order.

This is Disco Club‘s first ever reissue in its original form, remastered and featuring its replica artwork.

Pre-order a copy of Disco Club here ahead of its March 2018 release, listen to the album and check out the track list below.


Side A

A1. A Fim de Voltar
A2. Acenda o Farol
A3. Sossego
A4.Vitoria Regia Estou Contigo E Nao Abro
A5. All I Want

Side B

B1. Murmurio
B2. Pais e Filhos
B3. Se Me Lembro Faz Doer
B4. Juras
B5. Jhony

Latest Articles

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy