Summer of Soul soundtrack gets vinyl release





Directed by Questlove, and featuring music from Nina Simone , The 5th Dimension, B.B. King, and Sly and The Family Stone.

The soundtrack to Questlove’s Summer of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) documentary is being released on vinyl, via Sony this June.

Read more: The inexorable rise of vinyl soundtrack releases

Directed by Questlove, Summer of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised focuses on the 1969 Harlem Cultural Festival, which celebrated African American music and culture.

The soundtrack includes music from artists including B.B. King, The 5th Dimension, Gladys Knight and The Pips, Sly and The Family Stone, David Ruffin, and Nina Simone.

It follows Questlove’s book exploring music and American history — Music Is History.

Pre-order Summer of Soul (…Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised) here in advance of its 17th June release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. The Chambers Brothers – Uptown
2. B.B. King – Why I Sing The Blues
3. The 5th Dimension – Don’t Cha Hear Me Callin’ To Ya
4. The 5th Dimension – Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In (The Flesh Failures)
5. David Ruffin – My Girl
6. The Edwin Hawkins Singers – Oh Happy Day
7. The Staple Singers – It’s Been A Change
8. The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra and Choir Featuring Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples – Precious Lord Take My Hand
9. Gladys Knight and The Pips – I Heard It Through The Grapevine
10. Mongo Santamaria – Watermelon Man
11. Ray Barretto – Together
12. Herbie Mann- Hold On, I’m Comin’
13. Sly and The Family Stone – Sing A Simple Song
14. Sly and The Family Stone – Everyday People
15. Nina Simone – Backlash Blue
16. Nina Simone – Are You Ready