Brownswood announces debut album by singer/producer Skinny Pelembe





Lo-fi soul meets electronics and sunshine guitars.

Skinny Pelembe is releasing his debut album, Dreaming Is Dead Now, this May via Brownswood Recordings.

Read next: Gilles Peterson on the records that define Brownswood Recordings

Its 10 tracks include recent singles ‘No Blacks, No Dogs, No Irish’, ‘I’ll Be On Your Mind’, and ‘Spit/Swallow’ – which was one of our favourite 7″s of 2018.

The album was co-produced by Malcolm Catto (The Heliocentrics) as well as drum’n’bass producers The Bleeding Edge.

Its artwork pays homage to Alice Coltrane’s jazz opus Journey to Satchidananda.

Dreaming Is Dead Now follows Pelembe’s Sleep More, Make More Friends EP on Brownswood in 2018.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 24th May release, check out the cover and tracklist below.


1. Gonna Buy A Car Today
2. No Blacks, No Dogs, No Irish (Extended Mix)
3. Dreaming Is Dead Now
4. Spit/Swallow
5. Without A Doubtful Shadow
6. My Love Is Burning, Down
7. Ten Four, Good Friend
8. I’ll Be On Your Mind
9. Laxmi Flying
10. Blood Relations

Photo by Casey Moore.