Rare James Mason jazz-funk tracks from Rhythm of Life released in limited 7” series





Includes an elusive promo version of ‘Sweet Power Your Embrace’.

A series of James Mason songs from his ‘holy-grail’ 1977 album Rhythm of Life are being reissued on vinyl this October, by Dynamite Cuts.

Read more: The lost boogie of James Mason and NYC’s 99 Records story

Mason, a prominent member of Roy Ayers’ Ubiquity band, recorded Rhythm of Life around the same time he was lending his talents to one of Ayers’ most successful songs, ‘Running Away’.

Sweet Power Collection, available on 2×7”, includes rare promo versions of ‘Sweet Power Your Embrace’ and ‘Free’, as well as the original album versions of ‘I’ve Got My Eyes On You’ and ‘Slick City’, both of which have never been released on 45 before.

‘Funny Girl’/’Dreams’, available on 7″, includes a new edit of ‘Funny Girl’, and a promo mix of ‘Dreams’.

Order a copy of Sweet Power Collection or ‘Funny Girl’/’Dreams’ here,  listen to the LP version of ‘Sweet Power Your Embrace’ and check out the track list below.


Sweet Power Collection

A1. Sweet Power Your Embrace
A2. Free
B1. I’ve Got My Eyes On You
B2. Slick City

‘Funny Girl’/‘Dreams’

A1. Funny Girl
A2. Dreams