Haitian and tropical rhythms meet soul, hip-hop and jazz on Omas Sextet 22a debut





Watch an exclusive premiere of the new video for its first single.

James ‘Creole’ Thomas is releasing his debut LP as leader of the Omas Sextet band, via 22a this May.

Read more: Label spotlight: 22a

Currently residing in Port Louis Mauritius, Thomas previously recorded on cousin Reginald Omas Mamode IV’s self-titled debut LP and follow-up Children of Nu.

Omas Sextet’s six piece band is lead by Thomas, with interchanging members alongside a core group including Reginald Omas Mamode IV, Jeen Bassa, and Mo Kolours.

The album’s 16-tracks draw on jazz, hip-hop, soul and broken beat alongside musical influences from Haiti and Louisiana.

Pre-order a copy of Omas Sextet here ahead of its 4th May release, listen to an album preview and check out the track list below.


1. Intro
2. First Ways
3. Lead By No One
4. Understand
5. Soul Sub City
6. Melting Pot
7. Earth
8. Composed
9. No Need To Wait
10. Phazed Out (Short)
11. Creole People
12. The Plum Blossom
13. Naduslima
14. Too Black