Nick Cave releasing Idiot Prayer show as live album



An extended version of the film will also come to cinemas.

Nick Cave is releasing his solo piano show Idiot Prayer as a live album, via Bad Seeds Ltd this November.

Read more: From Bad Seed to Skeleton Tree: How Nick Cave grew in the darkness

Amidst the Coronavirus pandemic in June, Cave live-streamed a solo piano show at London’s Alexandra Palace, performing stripped back versions of songs including ‘(Are You) The One That I’ve Been Waiting For?’, ‘Into My Arms’, and ‘Nobody’s Baby Now’.

A recording of the show will now be released as a live album. “It is a prayer into the void — alone at Alexandra Palace — a souvenir from a strange and precarious moment in history,” says Cave.

Ahead of the live album, an extended version of the film featuring previously unseen footage will be shown in select cinemas from the 5th of November.

Cave recently launched a new online store called Cave Things — stocking everything from T-shirts to Cave-designed prints.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of Idiot Prayer — Nick Cave Alone at Alexandra Palace’s 20th November release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Spinning Song
2. Idiot Prayer
3. Sad Waters
4. Brompton Oratory
5. Palaces of Montezuma
6. Girl in Amber
7. Man in The Moon
8. Nobody’s Baby Now
9. (Are You) The One That I’ve Been Waiting For?
10. Waiting For You
11. The Mercy Seat
12. Euthanasia
13. Jubilee Street
14. Far From Me
15. He Wants You
16. Higgs Boson Blues
17. Stranger Than Kindness
18. Into My Arms
19. The Ship Song
20. Papa Won’t Leave You, Henry
21. Black Hair
22. Galleon Ship

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp