Neneh Cherry’s debut LP, Raw Like Sushi, reissued on triple vinyl



With a Massive Attack remix.

Neneh Cherry’s 1989 album Raw Like Sushi is being reissued on triple vinyl this January via Virgin/UMC.

Read more: An introduction to Neneh Cherry in 10 tracks

The stepdaughter of avant-garde trumpet player Don Cherry, Neneh Cherry moved to London aged 14 and quickly entered the post-punk scene, working with the likes of The Slits and Rip Rig + Panic.

Moving away from post-punk sounds with her debut LP Raw Like Sushi, Cherry mixed R&B and rap sensibilities with pop rhythms, producing hit tracks ‘Buffalo Stance’ and ‘Manchild’.

Remastered at Abbey Road, the reissue features demos and remixes, including Massive Attack’s remix of ‘Manchild’, and a 48-page booklet with liner notes, photos and new interviews.

The reissue follows Cherry’s Four Tet-produced LP Broken Politicsone of our favourite albums of 2018.

Head here for more info in advance of its 31st of January release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Disc 1

Side A

1. Buffalo Stance
2. Manchild
3. Kisses on the Wind
4. Inna City Mamma
5. The Next Generation
6. Side Two

Side B

1. Love Ghetto
2. Heart
3. Phoney Ladies
4. Outré Risqué Locomotive
5. So Here I Come

Disc 2 (extras)

Side A

1. Heart (Its A demo)
2. Buffalo Blues
3. Buffalo Stance (Sukka Mix)

Side B

1. Buffalo Stance (Electro Ski Mix)
2. Buffalo Stance (Arthur Baker Nearly Neu Beat Mix)
3. Buffalo Stance (Arthur Baker 1/2 way to House Mix)
4. Buffalo Stance (Kevin Sanderson Techno Stance Remix One)

Disc 3 (extras)

Side A

1. Manchild (Old School Mix)
2. Manchild (Massive Attack Remix)
3. Manchild (Smith N Mighty Remix)
4. Inna City Mamma (Re-recorded Extended Version)

Side B

1. Inna City Mamma (Cold Blooded Remix)
2. Kisses On The Wind (David Morales ‘A Little More Puerto Rico’ mix)
3. Kisses On The Wind (Dynamik Duo + Latin Rascals Mix)
4. The Next Generation (Rap One Mix)