UK jazz star Moses Boyd announces new album Displaced Diaspora





Featuring his much sought after single ‘Rye Lane Shuffle’.

Drummer and producer Moses Boyd will release new album Displaced Diaspora via his own Exodus Records label this September.

Read next: Moses Boyd on the drummers that shape his sound

A leading light of the UK jazz scene, who released his most recent EP Absolute Zero with The Vinyl Factory in 2017, Boyd’s new album revisits a number of recordings made from the same session that birthed ‘Rye Lane Shuffle’ – the Four Tet and Floating Points-mixed 12″ that has since gone on to fetch large sums on the second-hand market.

Displaced Diaspora features contemporaries Theon Cross, Nubya Garcia, Nathaniel Cross and Zara McFarlane (whose 2017 LP Arise Boyd produced), as well as British soul vocalist Terri Walker, saxophonist and bata player Kevin Haynes and his Grupo Eleggua, and rapper Louis VI.

Last year, Moses Boyd refreshed his Binker & Moses project for Journey To The Mountain Of Forever, which was our second favourite LP of 2017. In November, he won a MOBO for best jazz act.

Boyd shared the album news via Twitter, with pre-orders now available for Displaced Diaspora, which will be released on 28th September.

Check out the artwork and tracklist below.


01. Rush Hour / Elegua
02. Frintline
03. Rye Lane Shuffle
04. Drum Dance
05. Axis Blue
06. City Nocturne
07. Waiting On The Night Bus
08. Marooned In S.E. 6
09. Ancestors