Mo Kolours announces new solo album Inner Symbols





Percussive soul meets Mauritian sega music, hip-hop and dub.

Producer, singer and musician Mo Kolours is releasing his third LP Inner Symbols, this June via Five Easy Pieces.

Read more: Label spotlight on 22a

A member of the 22a collective alongside Henru Wu, Al Dobson Jr and Tenderlonious, the album follows his 2017 Axum EP on 22a, as well as recent collaborations on James ‘Creole’ Thomas’ Omas Sextet debut LP.

Inner Symbols takes its cue from the philosopher’s words: ‘Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, charm and gaiety to life and everything.’ Influences are many and all, ranging from colonisation and African diaspora to Korean shamanism, Doug Hammond to Junior Byles,” shares Mo Kolours.

The album was created on an Electro Harmonic looper with samples, live instrumentation and a Roland drum machine.

Pre-order a copy of Inner Symbols here ahead of its 22nd June release, listen to ‘Right Before My Eyes’ and check out the track list below.


1. For Real
2. Mental Time Dub
3. Right Before My Eyes
4. Without Strife
5. Fade Away
6. Life
7. Real With You
8. Thanks and Praise
9. We People
10. My Love Medley
11. Inner Symbols
12. Go To Sleep
13. Push It Now
14. Sacred Drums

(Photo by Karen Pang.)