McCoy Tyner’s Tender Moments reissued on Blue Note





Featuring tracks dedicated to John Coltrane and Thelonious Monk.

McCoy Tyner’s 1968 album Tender Moments is being reissued on vinyl, as part of Blue Note’s Tone Poet Series this November.

Read more: Artists on their favourite Blue Note records of all time

Tender Moments was Tyner’s second album for Blue Note, recorded with Lee Morgan on trumpet, Julian Priester on trombone, Bennie Maupin on tenor saxophone, James Spaulding on alto saxophone/flute, Bob Northern on French horn, Howard Johnson on tuba, Herbie Lewis on bass, and Joe Chambers on drums.

Blue Note’s Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is curated and supervised by Joe Harley from Music Masters, with all reissues mastered from the original tapes.

Tender Moments follows the reissue of Herbie Hancock’s 1963 album My Point of View.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of Tender Moments’ 20th November release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Made To John
2. Man From Tanganyika
3. The High Priest

Side B

1. Utopia
2. All My Yesterdays
3. Lee Plus Three