Marvin Gaye’s ‘lost’ 1972 album You’re The Man released for the first time



To commemorate what would have been his 80th birthday.

Marvin Gaye’s 1972 album You’re The Man is being released for the first time, on 2xLP this March via Motown.

Read more: How Marvin Gaye’s ‘Inner City Blues’ has remained America’s urban protest anthem for 45 years

You’re The Man was originally intended to be the follow-up to Gaye’s iconic album What’s Going On.

Of its 17 tracks, 15 are being released on vinyl for the first time. Although various songs have also appeared on compilations, this is the first time they have been collected in their original form.

Alongside the album cuts, the 2xLP also includes a long version of Marvin Gaye’s cancelled Christmas single from 1972, a vault mix of its instrumental B-side, and liner notes by Gaye’s biographer David Ritz.

Pre-order a copy of the album here ahead of its 29th March release, listen to ‘My Last Chance’ and check out the track list below.


Side 1

Produced by Marvin Gaye (1), Hal Davis (2), Gloria Jones and Pamela Sawyer (3), Freddie Perren and Fonce Mizell (4)

1. You’re The Man
2. The World Is Rated X
3. Piece of Clay
4. Where Are We Going?

Side 2

Produced by Willie Hutch

1. I’m Gonna Give You Respect
2. Try It, You’ll Like It
3. You Are That Special One
4. We Can Make It Baby

Side 3

Produced by Marvin Gaye except *Freddie Perren and Fonce Mizell

Mixes for tracks 1-3, by SaLaAM ReMi, and track 5, by Art Stewart, are previously unreleased.

1. My Last Chance
2. Symphony
3. I’d Give My Life For You
4. Woman of the World*
5. Christmas In the City (instrumental)

Side 4

1. You’re The Man Version 2
2. I Want to Come Home For Christmas
3. I’m Going Home (Move)
4. Checking Out (Double Clutch)

Latest Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp