Lovers rock covers collected in new Athens Of The North compilation





With covers of tunes by Prince, Bobby Caldwell, Starvue and more.

Athens of the North is releasing a new compilation of lovers rock covers, called For The Love Of You, this March.

Read more: 10 artists pick their favourite Prince records

The compilation features 12-tracks with covers of tune by Prince, Leon Ware, Mtume, Archie Bell, The Gap Band, Lowrell, Starvue, Bobby Caldwell, The Isley Brothers and more – from musicians including Misses Misty, Christine Lewin, and Family Love.

For The Love Of You was curated by Sam Don over the course of two years, and builds upon Athens Of The North’s release of three 12″s of lovers rock covers in 2019.

The compilation follows Athen Of The North’s release of Myth’s 2019 7” ‘Play With Me’ / ‘In Action’.

Head here for more info in advance of For The Love Of You’s 27th March release, and check out the tracklist below.


1. Peter Hunningdale – Rocking You Eternally
2. Christine Lewin – Juicy Fruit
3. Pure Silk – Don’t Let Love Get You Down
4. Al Charles – Outstanding
5. Karen Dixon – I Want to Be Free
6. George Posse – Touch a Four Leaf Clover (feat. Toyin Adekale)
7. Misses Misty – Mellow Mellow Ride On
8. Trevor Hartley – The Look in Your Eyes
9. Family Love – Do Me Baby
10. Michael Prophet – Body Fusion
11. Michael Gordon – What You Won’t Do for Love
12. Simplicity – For the Love of You