Jeff Mills and Jean-Phi Dary form new electronic jazz project, The Paradox





An extension of Mills’ collaboration with Tony Allen and Tomorrow Comes The Harvest.

Jeff Mills and Jean-Phi Dary are releasing a new album as The Paradox, called Counter Active, via Mills’ own Axis Records imprint this January.

Read more: Jeff Mills on how sci-fi can take club music to new realms

Mills and Dary began working together during Mills’ project with Tony Allen and Tomorrow Comes The Harvest, with the duo recording the album over the course of a year in studios across Paris.

They aimed to record Counter Active as spontaneously as possible, with no MIDI connection or computers used during the album’s production process.

It follows the release of the ninth instalment of Mills’ Every Dog Has Its Day series under his Millsart alias.

Pre-order Counter Active here in advance of its 29th January release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Super Solid

Side B

1. The X Factor
2. Residence

Side C

1. Twilight
2. Ultraviolet

Side D

1. Residence (Alternative Version)