Japanese city pop singer Kikuchi Momoko performs live at Nippon Budokan during 1986



A dreamy, transportive set in Tokyo.

On the heels of Kikuchi Momoko’s release of her 1986 album Graduation Memories, she performed live at the Nippon Budokan arena in Chiyoda, Tokyo.

Read more: The sun-drenched Americana of Japanese artist Hiroshi Nagai

After being scouted in 1982, Momoko began making TV appearances as a pop idol, and released her first single in 1984. Quickly rising to prominence, Momoko went on to release seven albums between 1984 and 1991, the last of which saw her shedding her mainstream-orientated image, shifting in sound and aesthetic to rock.

For her performance at Nippon Budokan, Momoko performed ‘Futari No Night Dive’, ‘Summer Eyes’, and ‘Blind Curve’ – which features on Light In The Attic’s second Pacific Breeze compilation, released this May.

Watch the show in full above, and check out the setlist below.


1. Alfa Flight
2. Dear Children
3. Calendar Initial
4. Evening Break
5. Adrance (Adolescent) Weekend
6. May Not Be Able To Get Any Further
7. Love of Projection
8. Southern Cross Dreaming
9. Futari No Night Dive
10. Graduation
11. Red lightning
12. Youth Of Trouble
13. I love snow on snow Love Letter
14. Summer Eyes
15. Dusk Exit
16. Broken Sunset
17. Boy theme
18. Eden of Galaxy
19. Ending (Adventure Overture)