Underground jazz legend Harold Alexander’s 1971 Sunshine Man LP reissued



Soul, jazz, rnb and some far out scatting.

Saxophone and flute player Harold Alexander’s third album Sunshine Man is being rereleased, this February via Tidal Waves Music.

Read next: How Roy DeCarava’s jazz photographs captured the soul of Harlem

Sunshine Man features Bernard ‘Pretty’ Purdie on drums, and Richard Davis on bass, with production by Imulse! legend Bob Thiele (who released the original on his Flying Dutchman label).

The reissue comes with original artwork, obi strip and extensive liner notes written by Alexander.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 23rd February release, listen to ‘Mama Soul’ and check out the track list below.


1. Sunshine Man
2. Quick City
3. Tite Rope
4. Mama Soul
5. Aquilla
6. Clean-Up