Gil Scott-Heron’s final album I’m New Here reimagined by Makaya McCraven



With sample-based production and live jazz improvisation.

Multi-instrumentalist and producer Makaya McCraven is releasing a reimagining of Gil Scott-Heron’s 2010 album I’m New Here, titled We’re New Again, this February via XL Recordings.

Read more: Play Sample Record: In the studio with Makaya McCraven

His final studio album, Scott-Heron’s 2010 I’m New Here was produced by XL Recordings’s Richard Russell. Just as politically charged as his previous work, I’m New Here took on an often confessional tone.

Recorded and produced in McCraven’s Chicago home studio, We’re New Again draws on his electronic, sample-based approach to production, fusing it with improvised live musicianship.

We’re New Again marks the second time the album has been reworked, following Jamie XX’s 2011 We’re New Here.

It follows McCraven’s 2018 Universal Beings LP, released via International Anthem.

Head here for more info in advance of its 7th of February release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Special Tribute (Broken Home pt.1)
2. I’m New Here
3. Running
4. Blessed Parents
5. New York is Killing Me
6. The Patch (Broken Home pt.2)
7. People of The Light
8. Being Blessed
9. Where Did the Night Go
10. Lily Scott (Broken Home pt.3)
11. I’ll Take Care of You
12. I’ve Been Me
13. This Can’t Be Real.
14. Piano Player
15. The Crutch
16. Guided (Broken Home pt.4)
17. Certain Bad Things
18. Me and the Devil

Latest Articles

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp