Emma-Jean Thackray unveils new album, Yellow





“Move the body, move the mind, move the soul.”

Multi-instrumentalist Emma-Jean Thackray is releasing a new album, titled Yellow, via her own Movementt label this July.

Read more: Inside Emma-Jean Thackray’s record collection

Across Yellow’s 14 tracks, Thackray aims to join the dots between ’70s jazz fusion, P-Funk, Alice Coltrane and choral interludes.

“I approached the record by trying to simulate a life-changing psychedelic experience, an hour where we see behind the curtain to a hidden dimension, where the physical realm melts away and we finally see that we are all one,” she explains.

To coincide with the announcement, Thackray has shared a new track, titled ‘Say Something’, along with a video directed by Avesta Keshtmand.

Yellow follows the release of her Um Yang album, on Night Dreamer in 2020.

Pre-order Yellow here in advance of its 23rd July release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Mercury
2. Say Something
3. About That
4. Venus
5. Green Funk
6. Third Eye
7. May There Be Peace
8. Sun
9. Golden Green
10. Spectre
11. Rahu & Ketu
12. Yellow
13. Our People
14. Mercury (In Retrograde)