DJ Shadow to release double-album, Our Pathetic Age





Hear its first track, ‘Rosie’.

DJ Shadow is releasing a new album called Our Pathetic Age, this November via Mass Appeal.

Read more: How DJ Shadow’s Endtroducing turned forgotten vinyl into a postmodern masterpiece

Its 23-tracks are split into two parts: the first 11 songs are entirely instrumental, while the remaining 12 feature collaborators and vocals. Cameos include Nas, Pharoahe Monche, Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah, Raekwon, De La Soul and Run the Jewels.

“Despite the title, Our Pathetic Age is a hopeful, vibrant album,” shares DJ Shadow. “As an artist, I feel an obligation to interpret the world around me, and there’s no denying that these are times fraught with angst and pain. Yet, always there is light in darkness, and that’s the energy I have sought to harness.”

Our Pathetic Age is DJ Shadow’s first album since 2016’s The Mountain Will Fall.

Check out the album art and tracklist below ahead of its 15th November release.


1. Nature Always Wins
2. Slingblade
3. Intersectionality
4. Beauty, Power, Motion, Life, Work, Chaos, Law
5. Juggernaut
6. Firestorm
7. Weightless
8. Rosie
9. If I Died Today
10. My Lonely Room
11. We Are Always Alone
12. Drone Warfare [Feat. Nas & Pharaohe Monch]
13. Rain on Snow [Feat. Inspectah Deck, Ghostface Killah & Raekwon]
14. Rocket Fuel [Feat. De La Soul]
15. C.O.N.F.O.R.M. [Feat. Gift of Gab, Lateef the Truth Speaker & Infamous Taz]
16. Small Colleges (Stay With Me) [Feat. Wiki & Paul Banks]
17. JoJo’s Words [Feat. Stro]
18. Kings & Queens [Feat. Run the Jewels]
19. Taxin’ [Feat. Dave East]
20. Dark Side of the Heart [Feat. Fantastic Negrito & Jumbo is Dr.ama]
21. I Am Not a Robot (Interlude)
22. Urgent, Important, Please Read [Feat. Rockwell Knuckles & Tef Poe, Daemon]
23. Our Pathetic Age [Feat. Samuel T. Herring]