Blue Note classics reimagined by Nubya Garcia, Jorja Smith, Shabaka Hutchings and more on new comp



Reworking tracks by Herbie Hancock, Donald Byrd, Joe Henderson, Bobby Hutcherson, Wayne Shorter, McCoy Tyner and more.

Blue Note and Decca Records are releasing a new album of classic Blue Note tracks by UK jazz, soul and r’n’b artists, titled Blue Note Re:imagined, this September.

Read more: Blue Note changed my life: 16 artists pick their favourite Blue Note records

The album features Shabaka Hutchings, Ezra Collective, Nubya Garcia, Mr Jukes, Steam Down, Skinny Pelembe, Emma-Jean Thackray, Yazmin Lacey, Poppy Ajudha, Jordan Rakei, Fieh, Ishmael Ensemble, Blue Lab Beats, Melt Yourself Down, Alfa Mist, and Jorja Smith.

While the full tracklist remains unknown, Blue Note Re:imagined will feature new versions of tracks by artists including Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Bobby Hutcherson, Joe Henderson, Donald Byrd and McCoy Tyner.

Blue Note Re:imagined follows the label’s release of Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers’ Just Coolin’ album on vinyl for the first time.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of Blue Note Re:imagined’s 25th september release, and check out the artwork below.