Yellow Magic Orchestra perform live at Nippon Budokan during 1980



An ecstatic soundtrack for bedroom dancing.

In December 1980, Yellow Magic Orchestra travelled to Nippon Budokan, Tokyo, to end their world tour.

Read more: An introduction to Ryuichi Sakamoto in 10 records

Supported by Akiko Yano, Hideki Matsutake, and Kenji Omura, YMO performed a 70-minute headline set that included ‘Firecracker’, ‘1000 Knives’ Cosmic Surfin’ and ‘Behind The Mask’.

The recording was later released on CD as Live At Budokan 1980 by Alfa in 1993, alongside additional track ‘Technopolis (Live At L.A.)’.

Watch the performance in full above, and check out the setlist below.


1. Riot In Lagos
2. The End Of Asia
3. Behind The Mask
4. Nice Age
5. Rydeen
6. Maps
7. La Femme Chinoise
8. Citizens Of Science
9. Solid State Survivor
10. Radio Junk
11. Kung Tone Boy
12. Firecracker
13. Cosmic Surfin’
14. 1000 Knives