Six classic Yellow Magic Orchestra albums reissued as box set editions



The Japanese trailblazers’ pivotal back catalogue returns.

Six Yellow Magic Orchestra albums have been reissued as collector’s edition vinyl box sets via Sony Music.

Read more: An essential guide to Ryuichi Sakamoto in 10 records

Spanning the band’s game-changing early years between 1978 and 1981, the reissue series includes both Japanese and US versions of their self-titled debut album, as well as 1979’s Solid State Survivor, Public Pressure and Multiples from 1980, and Technodelic and BGM from 1981.

All originally released on Alfa, the albums helped propel YMO to national and international acclaim, bringing an experimental use of synthesizers to electronic pop and machine funk.

Each album has been made available as both a standard and box set editions, with the latter including pixelated covers, new liner notes, unseen photos and studio ephemera.

Click here to find out more and check out some of the artwork below.