Toots and the Maytals announce first studio album in 10 years Got To Be Tough





Featuring Sly Dunbar on drums and a collaborative track with Ziggy Marley.

Toots and the Maytals are releasing a new album, titled Got To Be Tough, via Trojan Jamaica/BMG Records this August.

Read more: An introduction to iconic British reggae label Trojan Records

With Toots taking on horn and production duties himself, Got To Be Tough features Sly Dunbar on drums, Zak Starkey on guitar, and Cyril Neville on percussion.

The album also includes a cover of Bob Marley’s 1997 track ‘Three Little Birds’, in collaboration with Ziggy Marley.

Got To Be Tough marks Toots and the Maytal’s first studio album in a decade, following Flip and Twist in 2010.

Got To Be Tough will be released on August 28th; check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Drop Off Head
2. Just Brutal
3. Got To Be Tough
4. Freedom Train
5. Warning Warning

Side B

1. Good Thing That You Call
2. Stand Accuse
3. Three Little Birds Ft. Ziggy Marley
4. Having A Party
5. Struggle