Rare Sun Ra radio performance released on vinyl for first time





The recording was newly discovered in his archives.

A 1974 radio session from astral jazz pioneer Sun Ra is being released on vinyl for the first time, by Strut and Art Yard.

Read next: Strange Satellites: The 10 rarest Sun Ra records

Of Abstract Dreams is part of a series of of shows Ra and the band recorded at WXPN-FM between 1974 and 1980.

The LP features four tracks including a new version of ‘Island in the Sun’ and the first ever studio recording of ‘I’ll Wait For You’.

Nine Arkestra members accompany Sun Ra’s piano/percussion, including Marshall Allen on flute/alto saxophone,  and Eddie Thomas on drums.

All tracks have been remastered from their original tapes by Technology Works, with new artwork by Guy Denning and liner notes by Paul Griffiths.

Pre-order Of Abstract Dreams here ahead of its 15th March release, listen to the Strange Celestial Road version of ‘I’ll Wait For You’ and check out the track list below.


1. Island In The Sun
2. New Dawn
3. Unmask The Batman
4. I’ll Wait For You