Sun Ra’s electronic explorations captured on 1978 album Media Dreams



The astral jazz icon gets his hands on a Crumar synth.

Sun Ra’s Media Dreams has been reissued on vinyl via Art Yard records for the first time since 2004.

Read more: Channeling the cosmic imperfections of Sun Ra’s record sleeves

Recorded live in Italy during January 1978, the LP saw Ra leading a quartet including Michael Ray, John Gilmore and Luqman Ali.

Its six tracks feature Ra’s experimentations on a newly acquired Crumar Mainman synthesiser, recorded during the same sessions as his iconic tunes ‘Disco 3000’ and ‘The Sound Mirror’.

Head here to order a copy ahead of its 17th May release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Saturn Research
2. Constellation
3. Yera Of The Sun
4. Media Dreams
5. Twigs At Twilight
6. An Unbeknowneth Love