Soundway collects soca-dub and electronic calypso from ’79-’98 on 3xLP



Party jams from Trinidad and Tobago, Barbados and St. Vincent.

Soundway is releasing a new compilation of dance music from the Caribbean called Body Beat: Soca-Dub and Electronic Calypso (1979-98), this October.

Body Beat: Soca-Dub and Electronic Calypso (1979-98) collects 17-tracks on triple vinyl, described by the label as “obscure soca B-side versions, dubs, instrumentals and edits as well as vocal tracks influenced by disco, boogie, house-music, soul and the more conscious lyrics of roots reggae.”

Its music was compiled by Soundway Records label founder Miles Cleret and DJ/collector Jeremy Spellacey.

Body Beat follows Esa Presents Amanda: Music To The People on the label earlier this year.

Head here for more info in advance of its 12th October release, check out the cover art and tracklist below.


1. Juno D – Hotter and Hotter (Dub Edit)
2. Roger Bain – Stand Up & Rock Your Body (Instrumental)
3. *D* Ivan – Fire (Extended Dub Edit)
4. Bill Campbell – Body Beat
5. Cito Jarvis – Fighting Soldier
6. Peter Britto – I Want Your Love 05:03
7. Mohjah – Zion Gates (Dub)
8. Colin Jackman – D’Jab Jab Dance (Bad Lad Mix)
9. Chocolate Affaire – Jump To Calypso
10. Andre Tanker – Wild Indian Band
11. Adonijah – It’s Alright
12. Touch – Touch Music (Edit)
13. Brother Resistance – Move It (Version)
14. Levi John – S-O-C-A
15. Spiking – Liberation Train
16. D’Rebel Band – Solid
17. The Millers – Last Days