Soul Jazz Records collects ’70s-’80s afro-futurist electro funk on 3XLP





“An intergalactic journey into black space, fuelled by funk, powered by computers.”

London’s Soul Jazz Records is releasing a new funk and electro compilation, titled Space Funk – Afro Futurist Electro Funk in Space 1976-84, on triple vinyl this November.

Listen next: A vinyl-only mix from UK label Soul Jazz Records

Soul Jazz collected the rare electro and funk songs from small, independent labels.

Its 15-tracks span from the infectious funk of Santiago’s ‘Bionic Funk’ to Jamie Jupitor’s futuristic, drum-heavy ‘Computer Power’ and the classic disco sounds of JUJU & the Space Rangers’ ‘Plastic’.

Space Funk – Afro Futurist Electro Funk in Space 1976-84 follows Soul Jazz Record’s 2018 romantic reggae compilation Lovers Rock, which featured music including Marcia Griffith’s ‘Truly’ and Horace Andy’s ‘I’ll Be Gone’.

Head here for more info in advance of its 22nd of November release, and check out the tracklist below.


1. L E O – Fee Fi Fo Fum
2. The Sonarphonic – Super Breaker
3. Santiago – Bionic Funk
4. Frank Cornilius – Computer Games
5. JUJU & The Space Rangers – Plastic
6. Jamie Jupitor – Computer Power
7. Solaris – Space Invaders
8. Copperfield – Make It Good To Me Baby
9. Robotron 4 – Electro-?
10. Ernest Flippin II – Supersonic Space Lady
11. Funk Machine – Funk Machine
12. Ramsey 2C-3D – Fly Guy and The Unemployed
13. Osé – Computer Funk
14. 7 Below Zero Band – Seven (We Are)
15. Rodney Stepp – Break-Out