Ryuichi Sakamoto’s Minamata score set for vinyl release





Haunting orchestrals from the maestro pianist.

Ryuichi Sakamoto is releasing his score for the 2020 film Minamata, via Milan Records this July.

Read more: Ryuichi Sakamoto in 10 essential records

Directed by Andrew Levitas, Minamata follows a war photographer who travels to Japan to investigate the poisoning of the inhabitants of a fishing village called Minamata.

Alongside Sakamoto’s orchestral score, the vinyl release also includes end credits song ‘One Single Voice’ — featuring Welsh mezzo-soprano Katherine Jenkins.

It follows the first release of Sakamoto and David Toop’s 2018 concert, via 33-33 this July.

Pre-order Minamata (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) here in advance of its 2nd July release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Minamata Piano Theme
2. Into Japan
3. Landscape
4. The Boy
5. Chisso Co.
6. Boy and Camera
7. Hidden Data
8. Blow Up
9. Rally and Persuasion
10. Meeting
11. Offer
12. Commitment
13. Fire
14. Sharing
15. Rising
16. Chisso Gate
17. Arson Man
18. Suicide
19. Mother and Child
20. Coda
21. Icon
22. One Single Voice