Roy Ayers announces first new studio album in 18 years





Recorded with Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge.

Roy Ayers is releasing his first new studio album in 18 years, Roy Ayers JID 002, via Adrian Younge and Ali Shaheed Muhammad’s new Jazz Is Dead label this June.

Read more: An introduction to Roy Ayers in 10 records

Roy Ayers JID 002’s 8-tracks were written collaboratively by Ayers, Younge, and Shaheed Muhammad, and recorded at Linear Labs studio in Los Angeles.

Alongside Ayers on vibraphone, the album features Greg Paul on drums, Phil Ranelin on trombone, Wendell Harrison on saxophone, and vocalists Loren Oden, Joy Gilliam, Saudia Yasmein, Elgin Clark and Anitra Castleberry.

Launched by Younge and Shaheed Muhammad, Jazz Is Dead will focus on jazz, funk and soul artists – with forthcoming releases from Marcos Valle, Azymuth, Brian Jackson and Gary Bartz on the way.

Roy Ayers JID 002 marks the second release on the label, following its Jazz Is Dead 001 compilation in March.

Head here to pre-order a copy in advance of Roy Ayers JID 002’s 19th June release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Synchronize Vibration
2. Hey Lover
3. Soulful and Unique
4. Shadows of The East
5. Sunflowers
6. Gravity
7. Solace
8. African Sounds