Rare Steve Reich live performance reissued on transparent vinyl





Hypnotic early work in San Francisco.

Pioneering minimalist composer Steve Reich’s live performance at Berkeley University Museum in 1970 is being reissued on vinyl by Modern Silence.

Read more: The essential guide to Brian Eno in 10 records

Berkeley University Museum – November 7, 1970, which was released for the first time last year, is limited to 500 copies, and features four tracks that showcase Reich’s signature experimentation with patterns and looping. The 15-minute long shimmying maraca flourishes on ‘Four Organs’ are a particular highlight.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 31st October 2017 release, and check out the track list below.

Track list:

Side A

1. Four Organs
2. My Name is
3. Piano Phase part one

Side B

1. Piano Phase part two
2. Phase Patterns