Producer and visual artist Konx-Om-Pax returns to Planet Mu with new album





A technicolour antidote to gloomy techno.

Konx-Om-Pax, aka Tom Scholefield, will return to Planet Mu this June with a new album called Ways Of Seeing.

Watch next: 20 years of Planet Mu in 10 minutes

Ways Of Seeing is described as “a panacea to the darkness and disorientation all around in 2019.”. Scholefield began working on the record after a move from Glasgow to Berlin – drawing on hardcore, trance and trap to make a record in contrast to darker strains of techno usually associated with the city.

Opening track ‘LA Melody’ was created while Scholefield was staying with Hudson Mohawke in Los Angeles. “Initially Ross asked me to write some melodies to use in a project he was producing, but I ended up liking it so much I decided to keep the riff”, he explains. “I generally write music alone, but being around other producers gave me a certain excited energy that reminded me of after-parties back in Glasgow.”

The album also features collaborations with Berlin-based producer Silvia Kastel on ‘Säule Acid’ and Glasgow’s Nightwave on ‘I’m For Real’.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 14th June release, check out the cover art and tracklist below.


1. LA Melody
2. Säule Acid [Feat. Silvia Kastel]
3. Paris 5am
4. I’m For Real [Feat. Nightwave]
5. Rez
6. Optimism Over Despair
7. Earthly Delights
8. Missing Something
9. Day Dreams
10. Magenta One
11. The Paelontologist

Photo by Alicja Khatchikian