Nina Simone And Her Friends compilation set for reissue





Featuring unreleased tracks from her Little Girl Blue sessions.

Nina Simone’s compilation Nina Simone And Her Friends is being reissued on vinyl, via BMG this December.

Read more: Zara McFarlane on the power of Nina Simone

Nina Simone and Her Friends features unreleased tracks from Simone’s Little Girl Blue sessions, alongside tunes from Carmen McRae and Chris Connor.

The new edition features remastered audio, plus a new essay from professor and author Daphne A. Brooks.

As Brooks writes: “Each track is a reminder of the clear-eyed independence, verve, and confidence of three artists whose music, taken together, brims with the majesty and the assured talents of the late 1950s women artists who led with conviction and invention as musicians and song interpreters.”

Pre-order Nina Simone And Her Friends here in advance of its 3rd December release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Nina Simone – He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands
2. Chris Connor – Cottage for Sale
3. Carmen McRae – Old Devil Moon
4. Nina Simone – I Loves You, Porgy
5. Chris Connor – Try a Little Tenderness
6. Carmen McRae – You Made Me Care

Side B

1. Nina Simone – For All We Know
2. Chris Connor – What Is There to Say?
3. Carmen McRae – Too Much in Love to Care
4. Nina Simone – African Mailman
5. Chris Connor – Good Bye
6. Carmen McRae – Last Time for Love