Mr Bongo to release new compilation of funk, highlife and disco from Burkina Faso





Unearthing music from the country’s golden age.

Mr Bongo is releasing a new compilation record The Original Sound of Burkina Faso this autumn, shining a light on the country’s little-known music scene.

Read more: An introduction to African field recordings in 10 records

From Fela Kuti-esque saxophone roll of ‘Super Bar Konon Mousso’ to the strung out jazz trips of ‘Touba’, it “touches on folk, funk, blues, highlife, disco, psyche, latin, rock and soul”.

The 13-track 2xLP gatefold vinyl, complied by David ‘Mr Bongo’ Buttle and Florent Mazzoleni, is a follow-up to The Original Sound of Mali LP released in March 2017, and includes a booklet with extensive liner notes and photography.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 11th November 2017 release, listen to ‘Super Bar Konon Mousso’ and checkout the track list below.


Side A

1. Abdoulaye Cissé – Jeunesse Wilila
2. Abdoulaye Cissé – Tieba Lou Tounouna
3. Bozambo – Kombissé

Side B

1. Amadou Balaké – Whisky et Coca-Cola
2. John Oumar Nabollé – M’ba Lalé
3. Pierre Sandwidi – Boy Cuisinier
4. Tidiani Coulibaly & Dafra Star – Sie Koumgolo

Side C

1. Amadou Balaké – Super Bar Konon Mousso
2. Mangue Kondé et Les 5 Consuls – Pop Kondé
3. Youssouf Diarra (dit El Grand Ballaké) – Djanfa Magni

Side D

1. Amadou Balaké – Wayisjelequeyele
2. Amadou Balaké – Aminata Du Thé
3. Abdoulaye Cissé & Super Volta – A Son Magni