Mort Garson’s cult 1976 album Mother Earth’s Plantasia reissued for the first time by Sacred Bones





“Warm earth music for plants… and the people that love them.”

Sacred Bones is reissuing the coveted 1976 album Mother Earth’s Plantasia from Canadian composer Mort Garson this June.

Read more: Sound fields: Adventures in contemporary field recordings

The album was inspired by the book The Secret Life Of Plants – a mid-’70s phenomenon written by occultist/former OSS agent Peter Tompkins and dowsing enthusiast/former CIA agent Christopher Bird, that claimed that house plants could read our thoughts, predict natural disasters and, above all, enjoyed listening to music.

Garson composed Plantasia in the seventies using a newly released Moog synthesiser for the Los Angeles plant shop Mother Earth.

The album was created and sold specifically for the plants brought home by Mother Earth’s customers.

To celebrate its reissue, Sacred Bones and Atlas Obscura will also be co-presenting a Plantasia listening experience and workshop at Brooklyn Botanic Garden on 18th June.

Pre-order a copy here ahead of its 21st June vinyl release, listen to the album and check out the tracklist below.


1. Plantasia
2. Symphony For A Spider Plant
3. Baby’s Tears Blues
4. Ode To An African Violet
5. Concerto For Philodendron And Pothos
6. Rhapsody In Green
7. Swingin’ Spathiphyllums
8. You Don’t Have To Walk A Begonia
9. A Mellow Mood For Maidenhair
10. Music To Soothe The Savage Snake Plant