Mika Vainio’s 2008 album Oleva reissued on vinyl





Connecting the dots across his expansive discography.

Pioneering Finnish electronic musician Mika Vainio’s Oleva album is being reissued on vinyl, via Sähkö Recordings this October.

Listen next: VF Mix 91 – Mika Vainio by N.M.O.

Born in 1963, the late Vainio’s work drew inspiration from films, books, urban landscapes and abandoned buildings.

Originally released in 2008, Oleva saw Vainio moving through industrial, introspective moments, and compositions reminiscent of his time in Finnish electronic music group Pan Sonic.

It follows the posthumous release of his Berlin Atonal recording — 25082016235210179 (Live at Berlin Atonal 2016) — in August.

Pre-order Oleva here in advance of its 15th October release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. Unien holvit
2. S-bahn
3. Set the Controls to the Heart of the Sun
4. Frekvenssi
5. Loihdittu
6. Vastus
7. U-bahn
8. Koituva
9. Mojave
10. Tasanko
11. Kausaaliton
12. Muistetun palaava taajuus

Photo by: Annar Bjørgli