Makaya McCraven unveils new album, In These Times





Featuring contributions from Jeff Parker, Marta Sofia Honer, Junius Paul, Brandee Younger, and more.

Makaya McCraven is releasing a new album — In These Times — via International Anthem / Nonesuch / Xl Recording this September.

In progress for over seven years, the album explores “McCraven’s personal experience as a product of a multinational, working class musician community,” as well as “broader cultural struggles.”

Across In These Times McCraven draws on the “organic beat music” he has become known for, alongside orchestral and large ensemble arrangements.

It follows McCraven’s last album, Deciphering The Message, which saw him reimagining Blue Note’s catalogue.

Pre-order In These Times from Phonica in advance of its 23rd September release; check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. In These Times
2. The Fours
3. High Fives
4. Dream Another
5. Lullaby
6. This Place That Place
7. The Calling
8. Seventh String
9. So Ubuji
10. The Knew Untitled
11. The Title

Photo by: Steve Klamkin