Light In The Attic launch career-spanning Betty Davis reissue series





The Betty Davis Forever series comes out this August.

To mark the 50th anniversary of Betty Davis’  debut album, Light In The Attic is reissuing four albums from The Queen Of Funk’s catalogue.

Dropping on August 25, Light In The Attic’s reissue series will include Betty Davis (1973), They Say I’m Different (1974) and Is It Love Or Desire? (recorded in 1976 and released in 2009). There will also be the first vinyl release of Crashin’ From Passion, taken from Davis’ 1979 sessions.

All four releases were produced in collaboration with Davis before her death in 2022. Watch the trailer for the series below.

Betty Davis, They Say I’m Different, and Crashin’ From Passion were all remastered by Dave Cooley at Elysian Masters and are accompanied by booklets with rare photos from the era and new liner notes by writer, ethnomusicologist, and Davis’ close friend, Danielle Maggio. They Say I’m Different also includes a fold-out poster.

Is It Love Or Desire? was remastered by engineer John Baldwin and includes liner notes from journalist, DJ, and professor Oliver Wang.

Each release will be available on black vinyl and a series of coloured variants. They’re available to pre-order now.

Betty Davis tracklist:

1. If I’m In Luck I Might Get Picked Up
2. Walkin’ Up The Road
3. Anti Love Song
4. Your Man My Man
5. Ooh Yeah
6. Steppin’ In Her I. Miller Shoes
7. Game Is My Middle Name
8. In the Meantime

They Say I’m Different tracklist:

1. Shoo-B-Doop And Cop Him
2. He Was a Big Freak
3. Your Mama Wants Ya Back
4. Don’t Call Her No Tramp
5. Git In There
6. They Say I’m Different
7. 70’s Blues
8. Special People

Is It Love Or Desire? tracklist:

1. Is It Love Or Desire?
2. It’s So Good
3. Whorey Angel
4. Crashin’ From Passion
5. When Romance Says Goodbye
6. Bottom Of The Barrel
7. Stars Starve, You Know
8. Let’s Get Personal
9. Bar Hoppin’
10. For My Man

Crashin’ From Passion tracklist:

1. Quintessence Of Hip
2. She’s A Woman
3. No Good At Falling In Love
4. Tell Me A Few Things
5. I’ve Danced Before
6. You Make Me Feel So Good
7. I Need A Whole Lot Of Love
8. Hangin’ Out In Hollywood
9. All I Do Is Think of You
10. Crashin’ From Passion
11. You Take Me For Granted