Afro-pop meets thumb piano on Kondi Band’s We Famous





Plus elements of dub, disco, funky basslines, and beyond.

Kondi Band are releasing a new album, called We Famous, via Strut this September.

Kondi Band is formed of LA-based producer Chief Boima, London’s Will LV, and Freetown-based blind musician Sorie Kondi.

Across We Famous the trio combine Kondi’s vocals and thumb piano with dub, disco, and electronic textures

It follows Strut’s reissue of Ghanaian percussionist Okyerema Asante’s Drum Message album, in October.

Pre-order We Famous here in advance of its 24th September release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


1. We Famous (Introduction)
2. Don’t Follow Sweetness
3. Shake Your Tumba
4. Kondi Band feat. Mariama – She Doesn’t Love You
5. Kondi Band feat. Sweatson Klank – It’s God’s World (So Don’t Do Bad)
6. Fatou
7. The Sweetness Is Gone
8. Everything That Sierra Leone Has
9. How Will It Be for Me in This World?
10. Got No Money, I Want You

Photo by: Taliesin Gilkes Bower