Joni Mitchell’s 1969 Carnegie Hall performance gets first release





With live renditions of ‘Chelsea Morning’, ‘Cactus Tree’, ‘Both Sides Now’, ‘Urge For Going’, and more.

Joni Mitchell’s 1969 Carnegie Hall performance is being released for the first time, via Reprise this October.

The performance came almost a year after the release of Mitchell’s debut album — Song to a Seagull — and was the then 25-year old’s her first major concert.

It features renditions of some of her most beloved pieces, including ‘Both Sides Now’, ‘Chelsea Morning’, ‘Cactus Tree’, ‘Both Sides Now’, ‘Urge For Going’, ‘Morning Morgantown’, and ‘The Circle Game’.

Alongside Live at Carnegie Hall 1969, Mitchell also recently reissued her first four albums in a 4xLP collection titled The Reprise Albums (1968-1971).

Pre-order Live at Carnegie Hall 1969 here in advance of its 29th October release, check out the artwork and tracklist below.


Side A

1. Chelsea Morning
2. A Valentine for Joni
3. Cactus Tree
4. Night In The City
5. Had A King

Side B

1. Blue Boy
2. My American Skirt
3. The Fiddle And The Drum
4. Spoony’s Wonderful Adventure
5. That Song About The Midway
6. Both Sides Now

Side C

1. Marcie
2. Nathan La Franeer
3. Intro to The Gallery
4. The Gallery
5. Hunter
6. Morning Morgantown

Side D

1. Intro to Get Together
2. Get Together
3. Intro to The Circle Game/Little Green
4. The Circle Game/Little Green

Side E

1. Michael From Mountains
2. Intro to Urge For Going
3. Urge For Going

Side F

1. Etching Of American Eagle Design From The Skirt Mitchell Wore At Carnegie Hall Show

Photo © Joel Bernstein